Skip to content

Learning How to Listen

July 22, 2014

I have felt totally out of my element the past couple days: I’m with John’s family at the beach, and it’s a blast, but there’s a learning curve.  His family is here (parents, grandparents, aunt), as well as a lot of family friends, but everyone really does their own thing.  It’s a vacation they go on every summer, and it’s a blast, but it is not what I’m used to.

View from the House

View from the House

Growing up we always did a lot together as a family, even on vacation.  We hiked together, walked together, went to the beach together, ate meals together, played wiffle ball together … getting the gist?  So as I’ve grown older and realized that now vacation is what I want it to be, and it’s what I make it, I’ve had a hard time reconciling that no one is telling me to be somewhere at a certain time, and I have minimal responsibilities.

As a result, the first two days of this vacation have been what I’ve made them and what I’d do on an ideal vacation: sleep in, listen to sermons (which I never do at home because I don’t have the patience to sit and listen), read a novel, relax in the pool and the hot tub, sit at the beach and enjoy the view, and just enjoy having minimal responsibilities. I’m such a daddy’s girl though, so the only thing I’m really missing on this vacation is my dad.

~

I’m thankful for the time to learn.  Learn how people care for each other in this family.  

Learn how people cope with hurt.   Learn how to love my future in-laws better.

Learn how to listen better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

