Skip to content

That Time I Got Engaged

July 20, 2014

Been putting it off for a while, so here it is.

John doesn’t usually ‘ask me to go to dinner,’ we usually just decide to have dinner together or we go out with friends.  So when he asked me if he could ‘take me out’ on a Thursday (June 26th), I knew something was up.  I remember talking to my friend Andrea prior to the date that I thought tonight might be the night.  (Yes, John and I talked about it ahead of time … if you know me, you know this isn’t out of character)

So I got ready, put a dress on and waited for a bit for John to come pick me up.  I was starving.  I had worked at the summer camp I’m running that day, and my last meal had been several hours prior.  John picked me up and we started walking towards his car but it became clear we weren’t getting into it.

“Wait, ok, are we walking to dinner?  What’s going on?  I’m starving.”  I was being a brat.

“Dinner isn’t … ready yet.  Do you trust me?  Let’s just go for a short walk.”  John tried to distract me.

“OK.  Do I need to go back to the apartment to get a granola bar or something?  I’m really hungry.  What do you mean ‘Dinner isn’t ready yet?'”  I was still being a brat.

“Um it just … isn’t ready.  Let’s just walk … ” He is terrible at playing ‘dumb’.  But I still love him.

So we walked up to Kenmore Plantation and walked around back.  John had set up a picnic!  He explained that he had gone to get us food … but that he had forgotten his wallet.  So we sipped on some wine until our friend Thomas and his wife Anita brought us our favorite sushi.  I was a few bites in, and it was clear John was really nervous.  He was even still texting someone, until he finally put his phone down and said, “I need to get up and stretch my legs.”

“Uh, ok.”

John got down on one knee and said, “Cynthia, you know I want to spend the rest of my life with you, so will you marry me?”

I think my response was, “Wait, really, right now?”  Yes, probably not the best thing to have said, but I had kind of been expecting it, and still hadn’t thought of something more eloquent.  I think I was more relieved that the nervousness could be over … and we could start working on the harder things.

I said yes.

Almost immediately, our friend Thomas and his wife came around the fence they were behind (I didn’t realize they had been there the whole time) and congratulated us.   Thomas had even taken a video!  No, I haven’t put that up on the internet yet … Don’t know if I will.

John and I talked for a bit and made a few important phone calls to family and friends.

Since then, we’ve started working on some plans and have gotten started with pre-marriage counseling.  I think this has been my favorite part of being engaged.  And I’m learning more and more every day what it looks like to be a better friend and partner to my future husband.  I’m excited, scared, nervous, and thrilled to be marrying my best friend in a few months.

Pictures from our Engagement

Pictures from our Engagement

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. betternotbroken permalink
    July 20, 2014 5:25 pm

    Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

