Skip to content

Emotional Distraction

May 21, 2014

“Stay With Me”

By Sam Smith

Guess it’s true, I’m not good at a one-night stand

But I still need love cause I’m just a man

These nights never seem to go to plan

I don’t want you to leave, will you hold my hand?

Oh, won’t you stay with me?

Cause you’re all I need

This ain’t love it’s clear to see

But darling, stay with me

Why am I so emotional?

No it’s not a good look, gain some self control

And deep down I know this never works

But you can lay with me so it doesn’t hurt

Oh, won’t you stay with me?

Cause you’re all I need

This ain’t love it’s clear to see

But darling, stay with me

~

I’ve been thinking a lot about loneliness, depression, and emotions this week.  After a roller-coaster of a weekend   (I’m fine, don’t worry), I’ve been debating why God allows us to feel such pain and separation.  While I don’t think it’s what He wants for us, it is something that we often feel.  I can’t say that I have a full and completely scriptural response, but I have some thoughts.

Leading Young Life trained me to see the Gospel in secular aspects of our culture, such as pop music, movies, and other trends. So when I saw this song posted on my Facebook wall, I gave it a listen.  It depicts what I’ve been trying to put my finger on this week.  When I was at my darkest moments I would have (and sometimes did) allow the people who hurt me to stay with me.  I thought it would be too painful to separate from them and be ‘alone’.

At the end of the day, everyone will admit that they are broken, hurting, and can’t fix themselves.  If they can’t admit that … they are still trying to do life on their own and fix their heart with something or someone besides God.

So I think this song describes so accurately how every single one of us has felt at one time or another (I will definitely include myself in this).  Experiencing loneliness comes in waves for me, and varying degrees for that matter.  As a woman, I think most of the time it is an emotional place, and not at all anything to do with the reality that I am always surrounded (metaphorically of course) by people that I know love me and would do anything for me.  It’s when I let those emotions take me out of reality that I lose the ability to recognize the truth.

 

Don’t let your emotions distract you from the reality of the truth.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Panhorst permalink
    May 21, 2014 4:37 pm

    Your last statement is right on!

Leave a Reply

