Skip to content

Salvation for the Saved

April 17, 2014

Have you ever made a choice and never looked back?  I did.  I decided to give my life away to Jesus when I was a sophomore in college.  I haven’t looked back.  I definitely haven’t done the best job of representing my King, but I have been learning more and more every day as I journey with Him.  I never second-guessed my decision, until this past Sunday.

Disclaimer: I love where I work (South Stafford Christian School) and I love who I work with. I respect and admire the work that Pastor Carlin Dempsey does at King’s Highway Baptist Church, and I will continue to work here.  This commentary is solely based upon the words of Bailey Smith.

On Sunday, my students performed for the Palm Sunday service at King’s Highway.  They sounded fantastic.  I am a proud teacher … probably because I have little faith in my own teaching abilities and have been impressed with how far my students have progressed even with my limited teaching skills.  In any case, the main focus of the service, was Pastor Bailey’s sermon about “The Wheat and the Tares”, found in Matthew.  At first, it was common sense; there are ‘fake wheat’ among ‘real wheat’ or weeds among wheat.  In other words, there are people posing at Christians in the church.  But then Bailey went a step further … “There are people here today who aren’t saved who think they are …” (I’m paraphrasing …)

I stopped to think for a minute.  Wait.  Had I been saved?  I hadn’t had an emotionally tumultuous conversion like Saul, and I didn’t cry or get emotional when I gave my life to Jesus … so maybe I wasn’t saved?!  That was a lie.  I had to stop listening to Bailey for a minute to realize that he was talking about my heart with Jesus.  And it was then I remembered that I truly had given my heart to Jesus and that I continue to ask Him to keep it every day.  I don’t think it was Bailey’s intention to make me question my salvation, but he did, even if only for a split second.

Bailey’s sermon was most definitely pointed towards those in the church who have been going through the motions, and who are so engrained in what they do, they don’t even know why they are doing it.  That is not me. As crazy as I am, I am actually somewhat intentional.  Bailey needs to put a disclaimer at the beginning of his sermon: “If you know who you are and what you are about, tune out for the next 47 minutes.”

I only finished thinking about this last night when my boyfriend, John, was talking to me about it.  Feel free to ask him about his commentary as well.

I appreciate Bailey’s words, and think he is coming from a good place, but I can’t help reference my post from last week … “getting saved” might be a one-time thing and your conversion experience is your own, but how you live your life, and whether or not you are living it for Jesus is between you and Jesus.  The legalism and moralism that is rampant in (lots of) churches doesn’t save you.  Jesus does. Don’t let someone talk you out of your salvation.  You can be, or are, secure in Jesus.  Saying a prayer or walking forward to a pulpit doesn’t change that.  Be intentional.  Be secure.  Be loving.  Be a nun.  Live the #nunlyf.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

