Skip to content

The Greatest Joy and Sadness

November 21, 2013

I always say that the things in life that are most worth it, are also the hardest.  I think more than anything in the past couple years, I’ve learned that relationships are the best example of this.  They’re the hardest, but also the most worth it.  Any relationship: friend, teammate, co-worker, dating, family, etc, is worth it, but (can be) hard work.  Hard work being: time and emotional energy – two things I give away too easily and too often.

The other night it struck me hard; I was in so much pain over a relationship that has changed over the past couple months.  It struck me that I don’t like change; I don’t like people leaving my life or changing their role in my life.  I know that change is unavoidable and necessary, but it hurts, and I don’t like hurt.  I keep coming back to the fact that change is necessary for working towards things that are worth it, such as relationships.  It’s one big circle.  A good friend in college once told me that I think in circles, and I’ve found it to be a fairly accurate assessment of my thought process.

The hurt and change that relationships produce ultimately results in growth though.  And growth is worth it.  So the hard stuff is worth the end result, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

