Skip to content

Marathon Lives

April 10, 2013

Maybe one day I will be a consistent blogger.  A girl can dream.

This past weekend (Friday-Monday) I went out to St. Louis to watch my brother run the Go! St. Louis Marathon and to see Derek Webb perform a house show on his 10th anniversary tour of ‘She Must and Shall Go Free.’  Needless to say it was a whirlwind of a weekend.  I arrived late Friday night  and left Monday morning.  I’m so glad that I got to go out and support my brother, he’s quite a guy.  For those of you who haven’t heard, he will be attending the University of Miami (in FL) for the next 5 years, getting his PhD in Psychology.  Yeah, he’s super smart.

Brian and his friend Brady ran the marathon in 4 hours and 10 minutes.  A vast improvement from 4 years ago, when Brian ran the Boston Marathon (which wasn’t even official, but still …).   Brian ran to support the Woman’s Safe House, where he has been volunteering for the past 4 years of college. I’m a proud sister, in case you couldn’t tell.

But I think the best reason I went out to St. Louis was to see how my brother is doing life.  As much as you can keep in touch with someone with the amount of technology that we have, there’s still a gap, if you’re not physically with them.  I think part of the reason I try to travel and see people as much as I do is because I want to see how they’re doing life …

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Panhorst permalink
    April 10, 2013 8:10 pm

    So glad you went to support him and represent the family. Grandma

Leave a Reply

