Skip to content

Sassy Nun

March 15, 2013

I’m subbing at Stafford High School today, and the first class was a little too talkative for how I like my classes to behave.  So when the next class came in, I cracked down a bit.  As a sub, if you’re not strict to begin with, you can forget it; your threats are empty and the kids don’t respond to anything.  So I’ve come up with a somewhat formulaic way of handling things.  It works for most classes.  Today I got real sassy with a kid though.  Some of the teachers allow kids to listen to their music and so he had his headphones in.  I told him his music was too loud (I could hear it from 15 feet away).  His immediate response was, “He (their teacher) lets us listen to music.”  To which I responded, “Well, he’s not here today, is he?  Turn it down.”  The kid turned a little red and realized his mistake.

It amazes me how some kids treat teachers (and especially substitute teachers).  At the risk of sounding like I’m getting up on a soap box, I’ll divulge myself for a minute.  Some kids will do or say almost anything to get out of class and they don’t have any respect for authority.  I saw it last year as a long-term sub, and I’ve seen it even more as a short-term sub this year.  It’s tiring and unavoidable.  It’s not impossible though.  I’ve learned to not take it personally.  You have to.  At the end of the day, I’m not doing this job for myself or even for the money.

The way our culture matriculates kids through the education system will affect the way they see life though.  At least to an extent.  A larger portion is formed at home, and I’ve seen that in individual kids that I both know and don’t know. It’s a little crazy to me how much I’ve learned in the past two or so years as a teacher in a public school.  It’s hard to imagine that the way we do education is serving our kids well.  I’m starting to wonder what’s being done, if anything.

Just some of my thoughts on this sleepy Friday.  As usual, would love to know yours.  Enjoy the weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lredd011 permalink
    March 16, 2013 6:26 pm

    Just finished watching Won’t Back Down with Maggie Gyllenhal. You should definitely watch it. Your post reminded me of it 🙂

  2. lredd011 permalink
    March 16, 2013 6:28 pm

    Hey you should watch Won’t Back Down with Maggie Gyllenhal. Colby and I just finished watching it and your post reminded me of it.

Leave a Reply

